The Foundation is composed of:


The Foundation Council is the highest managing authority of the Foundation. It allocates resources, appoints its members as well as those of the Scientific Board, of the Management and of the Financial Auditors. Moreover, it approves the annual budget and the Foundation accounts.



Prof. Pierre-Marie Glauser BIOGRAPHY
Lawyer and professor of tax law at the UNIL (University of Lausanne), Associate at Abels Oberson SA



Mrs. Claudine Amstein
Independent administrator

Mr. Yves Henri Bonzon
Head Investment Management Julius Bär / CIO and member of the Executive Board

Prof. Nicolas Demartines
General Director, CHUV (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois)

Prof. Michael N. Hall
Professor at the Biozentrum, University of Basel, specialist in fundamental research and biochemistry

Mr. Bertrand Levrat
General Director, HUG (Geneva University Hospitals)

Prof. Philippe Moreillon
Former Vice-rector, UNIL (University of Lausanne), Professor emeritus

Dr Thomas W. Paulsen
CEO, Chief Financial Officer, Head of Finance and Risk Division, Banque Cantonale Vaudoise

Prof. Béatrice Schaad
Director of the Communications Department, CHUV (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois)

Dr. Fritz Schiesser
Lawyer and notary public, former member of the Swiss Council of States, former president of the Foundation Council of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), former president of the Board of the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (ETH Board)

Prof. Didier Trono
Full Professor, GHI (Global Health Institute),EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)


Honorary presidents

Dr. Rodolphe Stadler †, appointed in 1972

Mr. Jean-Jacques Cevey †, appointed in 2000

Prof. Georges Muller †, appointed in 2005

Mr. Yves J. Paternot †, appointed in 2016

Mrs Catherine Labouchère, appointed in 2021


Honorary members

Henri Isliker †, appointed in 2000



The scientific Board is composed of experts of international renown in various fields of cancer research.



Prof. Michael N. Hall

Specialist in fundamental research and biochemistry

Professor at the Biozentrum, University of Basel

Latest Awards

2021 Prix mondial Nessim Habif

2017 Albert-Lasker Award, Fundamental Research

2012 Marcel Benoist Award

2009 Louis-Jeantet Award for Medicine

2003 Cloëtta Award for Biomedical Research



Prof. Dr. med. Andrea Alimonti

Solid tumor specialist and expert in the field of immuno-oncology

Director of the Molecular Oncology Department, Institute of Oncology Research, Bellinzona

Recent awards

2019 Robert Wenner Award, Swiss Cancer League

2019 PCF Challenger Award

2019 Pfizer Research Prize in Oncology

2015 J. Steiner Cancer Research Award

2010 Swiss Bridge Award


Fabrice André MD, PhD

Specialist in the field of breast cancer and novel drugs

Research director, head of INSERM Unit U981 (Institut National des Sciences et de la Recherche Médicale), associate professor, Department of Medical Oncology, Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France

Latest Awards

2021 Outstanding Investigator Award - AARC

2011 Georges Mathé ESMO Award

2006 “Career Development” ASCO Award

2002 Young Investigator ASCO Award


Prof. Peter Johnson MA, MD, FRCP

Specialist in the field of lymphoma and immunotherapy

Professor of medical oncology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton, England

Latest Award

2016 Queen Elizabeth CBE Award


Prof. Dr. Anne Müller

Specialist in the field of immunobiology

Associate professor of experimental medicine, Institute for Molecular Cancer Research, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Latest Awards

2021 Cloëtta Prize

2012 Georg Friedrich Götz Award

2001 Dissertation Award Hygiene & Microbiology

2001 Otto Hahn Junior Scientist Award


Prof. Dr. Federica Sallusto

Specialist in Immunology

Full professor in medical immunology at the ETH Zurich and at the Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Lugano (joint professorship)

Member of the Research Council of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)

Recent distinctions

1999 Pharmacia Research Foundation Award

2009 Behring Lecture Prize

2010 Science Award from the Foundation for Study of Neurodegenerative Diseases



With the help of Scientific Board, the Management selects the research projects to be supported and addresses its opinion to the Foundation Council. It develops and proposes a strategy of fundraising and assumes the tasks allotted by the regulations of the Foundation.

Prof. Susan M. Gasser BIOGRAPHY

Mrs. Aylin Niederberger
Managing Director



Our ambassadors raise awareness for our cause among our friends, patrons and donors. 

Didier Grobet
Ambassador for French-speaking Switzerland

Andreas Choffat
Ambassador for German-speaking Switzerland



The financial auditors, whose tasks are allotted by law, are nominated by the Foundation Council and are re-elected annually. The current mandate was entrusted to PricewaterhousCoopers SA, Swiss Fiduciary and Audit Company recognized by the Swiss Institute of Certified Accountants and Tax Consultants.



The ISREC Foundation is recognized as an institution of public utility and is subject to supervision by the Swiss federal government. It is entitled to tax exemptions on successions and donations.



Help the ISREC Foundation support cancer research

Help us


ISREC Foundation
Rue du Bugnon 25A
CH-1005 Lausanne / Suisse
CCP 10-3224-9
Tél. : +41 21 653 07 16

Contact form